'I went on holiday without my boyfriend and was furious when I checked pet cam'
Mirror

A woman who spent a week away from her boyfriend while on a girls' trip has expressed her fury over the footage she witnessed on her pet cam that was installed back at home. The 29-year old took to Reddit where she explained she has been with her 35-year old other half for around two years – but now she's having doubts about him, like many couples do from time to time.
"We get along great and are basically the same person, and we share a pet that tends to get into things and destroy our furniture while we’re at work, so to keep an eye on her we installed a pet cam," the woman revealed.
She continued, telling the Relationships community that during her time away, she would "check in on the house" via the camera – which aroused her suspicions over what her boyfriend was getting up to.
"I noticed that a couple of times throughout the week my boyfriend would say he was hanging out at home but was not there based on cam footage," she said. "I was immediately suspicious but decided to give him the benefit of the doubt."
Admitting her boyfriend's communication during the latter stages of her trip had become "virtually non-existent", the woman said she became more concerned when his text messages seemed "short and disinterested".
"On my last night of my trip, my boyfriend said he was going to bed early," she added. "Again, not like him. An hour later, I got a notification from the pet cam about noise and I opened the camera and found all the lights on to our home, the dog barking, and no boyfriend to be seen."
Believing he was likely just putting the bins out, the woman said she went back to sleep only to receive another notification 10 minutes later – but still no boyfriend around on the camera.
After repeated calls to him went unanswered, she admitted to feeling "furious" - but things were about to get even worse. "I waited another 10 minutes to check the camera, and found it had been turned off remotely," she raged. "I turned it back on to find still no boyfriend, which means he saw my phone calls, chose to ignore me, and disabled the camera."
Based on timestamps from the footage, meanwhile, the woman was able to work out that he'd eventually returned home after three hours.
She concluded in the now-deleted post, however: "Since I’ve been home, he’s seemingly back to normal and we haven’t discussed it at all. The more time that passes without acknowledgement, the angrier I get. I’m now debating dumping him over his behaviour that week. Would I be overreacting in doing so?"
The appeal for advice prompted several Reddit users to respond, the majority of whom offered the same recommendation.
"Sit him down and have a conversation," one Reddit user said. "Don’t let him try to turn it into you not trusting him. He clearly gave you a reason not too."
A second person exclaimed: "No, dumping him is not an overreaction. Whatever he was doing, it was bad enough to lie about it to you."
And a third agreed: "Innocent people don’t lie or hide things from their partners. It’s bad enough he doesn’t want you to know. Breaking up when you can no longer trust someone is not an overreaction."
Others defended the boyfriend, however, including one Reddit user who slammed: "If I were your boyfriend I’d be furious that you’d been spying and checking up on me like that. Then the harassment texts? I wouldn’t reply on principle."